ISO 9001:2015 – Structure

The new revised standard is modelled around the ISO Directive Annex SL, a high level structure and common language that was developed by ISO for use on all new management system standard revisions; ISO/IEC27001: 2013 and ISO22301: 2012 have already been produced using the new Annex SL format. Annex SL is based on the Plan-Do-Check-Act methodology and comprises the use of ten clauses instead of the previous eight used in the 2008 version of ISO9001; those clauses are as follows:

  1. Scope
  2. Normative
  3. Terms and Definitions
  4. Context of the Organisation
  5. Leadership
  6. Planning
  7. Support
  8. Operation
  9. Performance Evaluation
  10. Improvement

The use of Annex SL across all management system standards aids in the integration of different systems as almost a third of text is common across all standards under Annex SL.


For a free Quotation or On-Site presentation by an ISO Specialist contact us today!