Replacement for BS OHSAS 18001 reaches Draft Stage

BY James Slade ON 17th February 2016.

iso 45001

The upcoming replacement for the BS OHSAS 18001:2007 standard, the ISO 45001 (Occupational Health & Safety Management) has reached Draft International Standard (DIS) stage.

What does this mean?

Whenever a new standard is created, the best draft of the standard is sent to be voted upon. Furthermore, comments from all 163 member organisations attached to ISO (Such as BSI or ANSI). The result of this voting and further consultation phase, is a Draft International Standard (DIS). Find out more about how ISO Standards are created here;

What happens next?

Now at DIS stage, all 163 member organisations have a three month balloting period, they will need to examine the further text within the new standard. If the result of this period is positive, the standard will become a Final Draft International Standard (FDIS)

When will we receive the new standard?

If the result is positive, the new ISO 45001 standard is expected to be published in late 2016 or early 2017.

What is different?

As a further explanation of this new standard, ISO 45001 will be following the same Annex-SL structure as found in the 2015 revisions of ISO’s 9001 & 14001. This common framework, as well as the adherence to the PDCA (Plan-Do-Check-Act) cycle, will allow the standard to integrate much more efficiently with other Management System standards, such as the ISO 9001:2015 (Quality Management) and ISO 14001:2015 (Environmental Management) standards.

Therefore, it is important that organisations currently holding the ISO 9001:2008, or ISO 14001:2004 standards, upgrade their existing systems to comply with the 2015 revisions. This will ensure that the implementation of the new ISO 45001 standard is seamless, and that it will integrate with the Quality and Environmental systems. IMSM offer a range of cost and time effective solutions to facilitate this upgrade. Find out more here –